Thread · 2 tweets · 21 Mar 2021

Replying to @justinschuh and @phenlix, @bgalbs, @dinodaizovi

Thank you for having the patience to make sure we're on the same page. Now, does a dialog like the one below make it clear to users that they are "opting in" to handing over most of their browsing history?
Because, I'll be 100% clear: to me it looks a lot like it's using a legitimate user need to trick people into consenting to handing over highly sensitive data. Put differently, this is a dark pattern deployed by what is supposed to be the most trusted app: the browser.
↺ 1